TSC gets new Chairperson who will serve for six year term

President Uhuru Kenyatta has nominated Jamleck Muturi as Chairperson for Teachers Service Commission (TSC).

The President also nominated Alfred Otieno Oyucho as a TSC member.

In total, the commission has nine members. With one representing each region of the defunct provinces.

Jamleck Muturi will replace Dr, Lydia Nzomo. Nzomo was the first person to chair the TSC after it was made a constitutional commission.

She took an oath of office in 2014. However she retired on 18th November last year after serving her six-year term.

Uhuru had appointed a nine-member Teacher Service Selection panel which then shortlisted seven candidates to compete for the TSC Chairperson position.

Those shortlisted were;

1 Dr. Joash Aloo from Homabay county

2 Jamleck Muturi John from Embu county

3 Samuel Gitonga Maina from Nyeri county

4 Dr. Lucy Mugambi from Meru county

5 David K. Koech from Nandi county

6 Dr. Mutoro Mumelo, PhD (HSC) from Bungoma county

7 David Kung’u Njoroge from Nakuru county

The candidates attended for interviews on 25th March 2021 for TSC Chairperson position and on 26th March 2021 for the other TSC post left by a retired Commissioner.

Speaker Justin Muturi today Tuesday referred the matter to the Education committee to vet the applicants in accordance with the provisions of the law.

“The Committee should notify the nominees and the general public of the time and place for holding the approval hearings, and upon conclusion of the hearings, table their Report in the House in good time to enable the House to consider the matter within the stipulated timelines,” the speaker said.

MPs are expected to conclude the process within 21 days.

Oyucho has been serving as a TSC lawyer until his appointment.

He led all cases against KNUT and has been instrumental in neutralising the giant teachers union

Meanwhile, MPs have sought to suspend sittings until May 4 in line with Uhuru’s directives to contain the spread of Covid-19.

Leader of Majority Amos Kimunya moved a motion for the alteration of the House calendar to adjourn the sittings.

“This House resolves to suspend all its ordinary sittings to Thursday, April 29 and resume ordinary sittings on May 4,” the notice which members are to vote on reads.

The April 29 sittings will be for consideration of the Finance Bill, 2021, whose deadline is set for April 30, after which normal business will resume.

Spread the love

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!